We're pleased to announce that Carat UK's, Emma Saddleton is one of the proud recipients of the 2018 WACL Future Leaders Award.


WACL (Women in Advertising and Communications London) is a network of key female leaders, which aims to enable women in our industry to reach their full potential and work to attain senior positions within the industry.

To take part, candidates were asked to put together an entry which emphasised their passions, motivations and achievements.  Upon being shortlisted, successful candidates were invited to a panel interview attended by ten senior leaders in the industry. Of the 229 women that applied, 30 successful women have been recognised as the industry's leaders of tomorrow.

Emma has been a force of nature here at Carat UK, accelerating through the ranks after she made the brave decision to change careers from mental health to media.

She's obsessed with getting to the heart of a problem and her insatiable curiosity about the world coupled with her drive to learn all the time have enabled her to do some brilliant work for her clients.

The true definition of a team player, Emma does all this while getting the best of out the people around her.

Winners of the award are provided with a bursary to attend a course of their choice, and Emma has chosen to attend a RADA in Business course to help further build her gravitas and presence. She plans to pass on these lessons to the broader Carat team to help others boost their confidence when presenting and in interpersonal communication.

Emma said 'I'm thrilled to have been given this award, amongst the other very worthy winners. I've been fortunate to work with some amazing teams both in Carat and across the Dentsu Aegis Network - but particularly Laurel Tennison, Kat Coelho, Simon Mayfield, Grant Burke & Bram Meuleman.

'Special thanks go to my mentor, Gill Huber. Gill has been incredible throughout, coaching and helping me navigate through my career so far, and her ongoing support is something I will continue to pay forward.'

Quoted in The Drum, Rachel Forde, CEO of Spark Foundry and WACL Future Leaders committee chair, said ‘The Future Leaders Award is one of the most fulfilling things we do as members of WACL. Every year we get to meet incredibly talented and inspirational women on their way to making a difference in their organisations and careers. This year was no different. The calibre and number of women applying makes the competition very high.’

Rick Hirst, CEO congratulated Emma saying ‘Emma’s fearless. In recent months I’ve seen her present to the UK’s biggest advertiser in her first ever pitch and own the room with an amazing confidence and assured manner.  She’s got a great way about her that’s a beautifully balanced mix of ambition, desire to learn and an openness to opportunities wherever they land. She’s the first to put her hand up to help above and beyond her day to day duties but, it’s not just an attitude - the quality of work she delivers is way beyond her years. 

Emma’s a huge asset to our business, and recognised by so many within it, our clients included. I’d love to see her, accelerated by great initiatives like WACL Future Leaders, become whatever she wants to be in our agency.  I have a sneaky suspicion I’ll be working for her someday (soon).’

Emma's mentor, Gill Huber, Head of Marketing & Communications for Posterscope, PSI & MKTG echoed Rick's comments, adding ‘I met Emma while we both worked on WACL Gather a few years ago and she impressed me with the enthusiasm and thoughtfulness she brings to whatever she works on.  As I have got to know her better I have also seen the great knowledge, curiosity and passion she has for media and her clients.  She is hugely deserving of this award and will use the opportunity to both improve her capabilities but also to share that knowledge with others to ensure everyone benefits, which is very typically Emma.  Emma is a pleasure to spend time with, and I’m proud to be her mentor; though I’m pretty sure will be mentoring me in the future as her career progresses!’

For a full list of this year's recipients, please click here.

^Back to Top